Come Fly With Cuppey

aeroplane

“Come fly with me, we’ll float down in the blue”

Ahhh, the joys and the magnificence of flying 36’000ft in the air. The world just hours within our grips! Every continent within 24hours of another is truly a remarkable feat by mankind, but not all airlines are the same and why not enjoy the miracle of flying in comfort.

This is my list of experiences of all the airlines I’ve flown with along with my rating on price, refreshments, entertainment and comfort.

United Airlines

United Airlines was the first carrier I took overseas. I flew from Sydney to LA and LA to Sydney. The staff were very accommodating, the food was okay… I guess but the flight was smooth. The seating was a little cramped on an old aeroplane with one small screen for entertainment about 6 rows ahead. The movies they played were new movies at the time but a screen on the seat in front of me would have been a lot more enjoyable instead of gazing off into the distance. However, good airline if you wish to go to the US on a shoestring.

Price: $$

Refreshments: 😐

Entertainment: 😐

Comfort: 😐

I rate this airline a 2 out of 5.

Virgin Australia (Domestic)

This was the first carrier I took domestically. I’ve flown with Virgin from Sydney to Gold Coast and to Melbourne and back a few times. The reason I’ve ranked Virgin with a somewhat low score is that I’ve had delays with Virgin a number-of times. Virgin also loves to jack up the prices on domestic flights during the Australian Football League (AFL) finals in September. So, if you’re looking for a cheap flight to Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide or Perth in September don’t bother. Even ex-AFL star Dane Swan made the joke “thanks for making flights for footy fans affordable for everyone, only had to re-mortgage my house”. Above all that though, they do serve light refreshments and the comfort is okay. Okay enough to only fly with Virgin domestically but bring a book or download something to watch as there’s no entertainment provided.

Price: $$

Refreshments: 😊

Entertainment: Nil

Comfort: 😊

I rate this airline a 3 out of 5.

Express Jet  

There’s nothing to really say here. I’ve flown with them from LA to Vancouver, Vancouver to Calgary, Calgary to Kelowna and the same in reverse. They were cheap, they had movies although you had to pay for them, the seats were very squishy, but they did bring me water from memory. Overall not a bad airline. Nothing bad to say, but nothing overly amazing to say. Just average.

Price: $$

Refreshments: 😐

Entertainment: 😐

Comfort: ☹

I rate this airline a 2 out of 5.

Ryanair  

You literally get what you pay for. London to Dublin. Just sit there and watch Ireland get closer. Only water, pay for refreshments no movies, essentially a bus ride. It ranks in the mid high area because you get what you paid €56 for and it doesn’t try to hype itself up to be some over the top airline. Why would you when the most frequent flights are only 55 minutes in transit. Ryanair are also looking to be the first airline with a standing section. How good! Pay the extra €9 for leg room, it’s like being in economy business class.

Price: $

Refreshments: 😐

Entertainment: Nil

Comfort: My advice, buy extra leg room for comfort 😐

I rate this Airline a 3 out of 5.

cropped-cam00378.jpg
Express Jet flight

Egyptair

For a third world Airline its good! Amman to Cairo, Cairo to Luxor return. Food was appetising, dolmades, salad and cake with a soft drink. Who serves dolmades on an airline? #heaven. Comfort was great, air hostesses were great, and the flight was smooth. The entertainment was purely just scenery and docos on Egypt from the 90s – early 2000s so it felt like being at Cowra High School in Mr Tapscott’s history class. I loved that class, so I didn’t mind a bit of distorted talking and lame background music. If you’re travelling around Egypt don’t push your nose up at Egyptair, they’re a better carrier than some first world carriers.

Price: $

Refreshments: 😊

Entertainment: 😐

Comfort: 😐

I rate this airline a 3½ out of 5.

Air France  

Not what I was expecting from the French. Paris to Amman. Don’t think Tour de Eiffel when you think of Air France. Ordinary service and comfort, no entertainment for a 5-hour flight and left me unsatisfied after a crappy meal. I don’t know how a country built on pioneering chefs could leave a food lover hungry on an aeroplane because the food was about as good as eating a washed-up leather boot from the Seine. If you do feel the urge to fly with Air France, try and see if Ryanair is available to do the job, the same just a lot more expensive.

Price: $$

Refreshments: ☹

Entertainment: Nil

Comfort: ☹

I rate this airline a 1 out of 5.

Emirates

Nearly the best. Sydney to Dubai return twice, Dubai to Paris, Dubai to Frankfurt, Rome to Dubai and Dubai to Hong Kong. I’ve flown with these guys the most, but they lost a point for the service between Sydney to Dubai return was ordinary. The other flights though the customer service has been amazing. The entertainment and comfort were great. Huge selection of movies, TV shows and games, great reclining room and sufficient leg space. I found myself playing games for hours or watching movies if I wasn’t relaxed and sleeping. The food is great, and the menu is different every place you fly. This airline in my opinion is borderline second to none.

Price: $$$

Refreshments: 😊

Entertainment: 😊

Comfort: 😊

I rate this airline a 4½ out of 5.

Qantas Link flight

QANTAS & QANTAS Link

Really the spirit of Australia. Wagga Wagga to Sydney and Hong Kong to Sydney. Both times I’ve flown with QANTAS I’ve been satisfied. Flight was on time and the service was great. After finishing my time at Kapooka in the Australian Army, I flew back to Sydney so maybe they may have been a little nicer. The food was the best, I had Pork sausage and mash, name a more iconic duo…..? The movie selection was also amazing with a few Australian classics to really set you in the mood of visiting Australia or returning home. Maybe I’m a bit biased, after not being home for a while seeing the latest NRMA add with the ‘We Can Be Heroes’ cover did give me a sense of pride and choked me up a little inside. QANTAS is also one of the most highly regarded airlines having no major accidents in its 98-year existence.

Price: $$$

Refreshments:😊

Entertainment:😊

Comfort:😊

I rate this airline a 4½ out of 5.

Singapore & Silk Air

Decent. Sydney to Singapore, Singapore to Kathmandu, Kathmandu to Singapore and Singapore to Sydney. Changi is a great airport and has been voted the best airport in the world 8 years in a row. Singapore and Silk Air are good and were once the standard that every airline should meet to go above and beyond. With Emirates, Qatar and QANTAS now surpassing that standard it’s kind of left Singapore as an expensive airline of mediocrity. I expected better. I’m not trying to rub the Singapore name in the dirt, just with it’s reputation I expected Emirates standards. The food was probably the best part of the experience. Great cuisine! The staff are attentive and courteous. Silk Air didn’t provide any entertainment but delivered the same standard as it’s major provider.

Price: $$$

Refreshments:😊

Entertainment:😊

Comfort:😐

I rate this airline a 3½ out of 5.

Singapore Airlines flight

Jetstar (Domestic)

Unless I was desperate I wouldn’t travel with this airline internationally. Sydney to Gold Coast and Gold Coast to Cairns. I only traveled short domestic flights with the airline. When it comes to budget domestic travel Jetstar airlines is definitely the better carrier than Tigerair. When it comes to domestic travel within Australia however, if you can travel with Virgin or QANTAS Link then do so. With Jetstar expect small leg room, no entertainment, no refreshments. It’s double the price of Ryanair and at about a par standard which knocks it down in the rankings.

Price: $

Refreshments: Nil

Entertainment: Nil

Comfort:😐

I rate this airline a 2 out of 5.

Tigerair (Domestic)

I’ve always wanted to see how many Queenslanders could fit in a small can of tuna. Cairns to Sydney. The fact that people until 2017 could get on these planes and travel hours to places like Indonesia is baffling. If being crammed and below par service is the goal of the holiday, then be my guest. I hope I never need to fly tigerair again. Do yourself a favour and pay the extra dollars to fly with either Jetstar, Virgin or QANTAS link.

Price: $

Refreshments: Nil

Entertainment: Nil

Comfort:😐

I rate this airline a 1 out of 5.

Tara Air

Smoothest landing I’ve ever had. Ramechap to Lukla then Lukla to Ramechap. This ones just for fun! Tara Air is a small carrier that takes trekkers to and from Lukla Airport. Lukla is the gate way to Everest base camp and the most dangerous airport in the world (click here to see a close call yourself). This would have been one of the smoothest rides of my life and the easiest to embark and disembark. For refreshments a flavoured lolly and entertainment… how does a view of the tallest mountains on earth sound? They provide cotton buds for the loud trip but it’s one awesome ride!

Price: $

Refreshments: A lolly

Entertainment: The Himalayas

Comfort: Happy to be alive

Tara Air

Well there it is! That’s my opinion on the all the airline carriers I’ve flown with. Feel free to leave a comment and share your experience with the airlines you have travelled with. Thanks for reading!

Pack up let’s fly away!”

Ethan Cupitt – Travel Blogger/Photographer
Sydney, Australia

Contact me on FB or Instagram

Everest Base Camp Tips

Everest base camp (EBC) is no easy accomplishment. It’s tough if your’re not prepared, so make sure that you’re mentally and physically ready. Although when you read the itinerary of your trip (if it’s done on a tour) the days seem short and appear easy. You’re in the mountains, the days will be long and…

Paris is NOT Disappointing

  Paris! PARIS!! You hear the name, you have an image in your mind and you think red lip stick, small cafes, berets and croissants. The only way you can be disappointed with this magnificent city is if you expect it to be some fantasy in a Hollywood romantic comedy. If you’re looking for culture,…

The Lost Wonder of the World

  “So forget any ideas you’ve got about lost cities, exotic travel, and digging up the world. We do not follow maps to buried treasure, and “X” never, ever marks the spot”. Jordan is a small country with many things to visit. The Dead Sea, Wadi Rum and of course Petra. I only had time…

Leave a comment